This is not an exit

Of ladies and longboards

In Uncategorized on January 17, 2012 at 8:00 am

I’m sure my Facebook friends and Twitter followers are sick of me talking about one of my favorite videos from last year. You know, the one where seven women skate down a Spanish mountain to the tune of The Decemberists’ “Rox in the Box.” I discovered that delightful piece of multimedia — and wrongly asserted its subjects were Brazilian — shortly after I saw Colin Meloy and company perform live in Bend with Those Crazy Broads.

I couldn’t quite put my finger on what was so compelling about the piece. Was it that I was listening nothing but The Decemberists, more specifically, The King is Dead, on a near-endless loop in my car, office and at home? What about the fact that I also knew a clan of five spunky lady friends of whom the imagery reminded me? Both were plausible reasons for my attachment to the video.

I often referred back to the clip whenever I needed a fresh bit of inspiration. On the most recent visit to this particular muse, I decided to click on the link to the Longboard Girls Crew Facebook page and was met with quite a nice surprise. As it turns out, what I had obsessed over for months was just a tease of a documentary that followed these seven women through a tour of Spain.

If you have half an hour to spare, you should grab a cup of tea or coffee and a pastry and watch the first two parts. If you don’t have half an hour to spare, come back when you do. Trust me: It’s worth it. In watching the first 25 minutes of the documentary, I realized what it was about that video that had me so enamored (aside from the gorgeous Spanish women, of course.)

If you say you wouldn't want to be in this frame, you're a total liar.

For one, these ladies and the camera operators do what I hate envy about professionals in any field: They make their work look incredibly easy. Just watch as they speed down country roads, seamlessly navigate hairpin curves and dance on their longboards. I’m not kidding. They literally dance on their boards. And they make it look like it’s as easy as hopping on any old piece of wood and doing a jig.  One of the most intoxicating things about watching professionals work is how quick and simple they make anything look. These women’s longboarding sort of reminded me of watching my managing editor design last year. The man could whip up a page one design in a matter of minutes, but you knew his head had been buzzing with ideas for hours beforehand.

It’s also hard to deny how infectious the happy-go-lucky mood Juan Rayos and his editors imbue in these videos is. They do such a great job of capturing that devil-may-care attitude and emotion that comes when youth is unleashed in an exotic location. You get a definite sense of adventure and comradery from most of the frames and scenes in these first two parts. What I love most about these segments is how little narration is done by the women being filmed. Most of the story is told through their actions and emphasized by the music. This really is some of the best, most fun multimedia storytelling I’ve found online lately. The second of these two parts went live in mid-December and I haven’t seen an air date for part three on the Endless Roads official site, but I’ll update This Is Not An Exit when it’s out. Both videos are embedded below. I hope you enjoy them as much as I have.

Endless Roads 1 – Yellow Horizons from Juan Rayos on Vimeo.

Endless Roads 2 – The Island from Juan Rayos on Vimeo.

But what do YOU think?

