This is not an exit

Full-major status

In Uncategorized on January 10, 2012 at 11:19 am

Sunday afternoon I went to my first meeting for Flux. The last few days the weather has been absolutely gorgeous here in Eugene, so I decided that I wouldn’t drive anywhere that day. I’m pretty glad I also decided to take my camera along, because there were plenty of amazing opportunities to snap a few shots on my way to and from the get-together at Agate Hall.

This term I was admitted to the University of Oregon’s School of Journalism and Communication with full-major status in the journalism, or “Super-J” curriculum. That and my employment with Flux were two goals I had outlined in a composition notebook that I started mocking up with all sorts of aspirations, wish lists and inspirational notes pertaining to my growth as a journalist. Another of the goals outlined in the book is, and I quote: “Get to know my Canon Rebel as well as my Zelda inventory.”

When it comes to playing Zelda games, I can whip out the Fairy Bow and strike a Keese at 30 paces within two seconds (I think.) I’d like to get to that level of intuition with my photography. In order to do so, I’ve started carrying my camera in my backpack and looking for opportunities to shoot whenever possible. After all, this is what newspapers are looking for in a reporter, right? This is it. This is full-major status. Check out a gallery of the best stuff I shot while I was goofing around on campus Sunday. They need some work, but at least it’s a start, right?

But what do YOU think?

